WhatEastern Province Championship & Mini Races Preview
WhereAldo Scribante Racetrack, Port Elizabeth
WhenSaturday 12 October 2019
CommunityPort Elizabeth, South Africa National.

PE races to celebrate 60 years of Mini

Port Elizabeth race fans always have something different to look forward to and Aldo Scribante’s 12 October regional races will be no different as the Algoa Motorsport Club celebrates 60 years of Mini, both on and off the track alongside the regular PE regional race attractions. 

The mighty Mini has a magnificent motorsport record. The wieldy little car bounced to racing prominence on track when Sir John Whitmore raced one to British Touring Car Championship glory in 1961, before future SA champion John Love repeated the feat in ’62, while Warwick Banks and John Handle won European Touring Car titles in 1964 and ’68.

But the Mini became a true motorsport giant with the arrival of the mighty Cooper S on World Rally stages, when Paddy Hopkirk took the first of three giant-killing Monte Carlo wins in 1964, followed by Timo Mäkinen in ’65 and Rauno Aaltonen in 1967. South Africa was also a big part of Mini’s motorsport success with George Armstrong, Pat Sonnenschein, Giv Giovanoni winning over the years and now, to celebrate 60 giant-killing years, Saturday’s program includes three special all-Mini races.

Entries have come in from around the country, but there are a few local attractions too, including Ian Riddle’s Cooper S among Barry Kapelus, Trevor Tuck (Scuderia Tulilomo) and Dion Valentine’s similar cars. Add Colin Ritchie, Stuart Greig (MiniFormance), Dave Alexander (Piri Piri) and Eddie Botes (Braitax) in Coopers, Kyle Brink's 1380cc version, Chris van der Walt and Shawn Bester (Bestune 850).

For the rest, it's business as usual in the EP Modified Saloons, but with the championship coming to a head, there are a few key battles to look out for. Aldo Scribante (Scribante Concrete Audi S4) holds a handy Class A title advantage over the similar cars of Bryn High (S & K Diesels/Brights/Fuchs) and brother Silvio in the second Scribante car, with both of them and Duncan Lethbridge (St Francis Marine Audi TT) chasing second split by all of six points and Robin Spence (Subaru Forester) ready to pounce.

Deon Slabbert (Emerald Fire VW Polo) holds a handy Class B title advantage over Rufus Neethling (Kayalihle Trading Audi), but he has Gordon Nolan (ITTS/GN Polo), Steve High S & K/Brights/Fuchs Cruze) and Thys Geyser (GDC Golf) all within 10 championship points and Kevin Kelly (Xtreme Projects Mitsubishi) looking for a little luck. Marais Ellis meanwhile leads Class C from Johan Nel (Kerbmaster BMW) and Anthony Bridgett (BMW).

The main Modified focus is the overall title fight between Class D leaders Stephan Aucamp (Injection Technik/A1 Cooling BMW 328) and Daniel Bright (Brights/Roelofse Meyer Attorneys/Fuchs VW Citi), with Jeff Guscott’s Porsche also in attendance. Wickus Basson leads Class E from Derik Gouws (BMW), while Theo Scholtz (BRD VW Polo 6R) has a handy Class F lead, where lady racer Zante Otto (VW Motorsport/ Brights VW Polo) is the big mover behind second placed Riaan Van Hyssteen in the baby class.

The AMSC Historics racers step up to SA Mechanical Seal Coastal Challenge status this weekend, with several out of town visitors keen to topple Rudolf De Vos' mighty Chevy Can Am. They include East London visitor Brendan Smith (Masthead BMW 635 CSi) and local regulars Rane Berry (Goodwrench Skyline) and Gordon Bennett (Tiger JBay Rekord), Mini men Colin Ritchie, Dion Valentine and Stuart Greig, Dinesh Coopoo (BMW 2002Ti) and a fleet of Alfa Romeos including Trevor, Harold Webster, Mark Schulpfort, Larry Davies and Andrew Greenland, Ford Escort gang, Ronald Scott, Anton Ehlers Neil Van Eyk (Lokhose) and Robert Halgreen (Rob2Go/Le Mans) and Deon Gouws (Supreme Kadett GTE).

Two wheeled action will see Yamaha R6 trio Ricardo Otto, Ivor Vermaak (Ginger Arrow) and Wade Wright fight it out in Class A, while Suzuki men Malcolm Burrows and Glen Elliott (Red Dragon), Yamaha duo Wayne Molloy and Jessica Howden (Otto Racing) and Kawasaki men Richard Hawkins (Conticare), Malcolm Botes (Hive Octane) and William Kew (The Water Boy) race in Class B.

It's a case of Japan versus the Specials in the Sports & GT races, where Gordon Nicholson (Brights/Fuchs Skyline GT-R) and Syd Lippstreu (Toyota Celica) face off against a fleet of nimble Lotus 7s piloted by Kean Barnard (HR Focus/Capri Spares), Patrick Hanly and Mesradox duo Jeandre and Pikkie Marais.

The ever entertaining Port Elizabeth Street Cars also have an extra dose of Mini on Saturday, with Stephen Whitehead, Chris van der Walt and Stuart Cornforth; MiniFormance duo Quinton Bassani and Hedley Whirehead, Shawn Bester (Bestune) and Linda Wium (Igen) all celebrating 60 years on track. They will face up against a varied field including Fred Ballinger (Birkin 7), Peter Macpherson (BMW 635csi), Mario (Renault) and Corne Botes (Ballade) and Andrew Boshoff (Golf 1).

Find the Aldo Scribante Race Track in the Coega industrial zone just off the N2 North. There will be practice Friday 14 July with the racing starting mid-morning following warm-ups and qualifying Saturday. Entry fee is R80 per person and under-12s are free, there are full catering and bar facilities on site.


Issued on behalf of Aldo Scribante Racetrack

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images