WhatNorthern Regions Karting Final Round 6 Report
WhereLaserfiche Raceway, Vereeniging
WhenSaturday 20 October 2018
CommunityGauteng Regional

Tight racing, tighter title races in Vereeniging

The 2018 Northern Regions  Karting Championships came to a head at Vereeniging’s Laserfiche Raceway over the weekend, crowning Arnold Neveling, Philipe Chapat, Wayland Wyman, Jayden Els, Jordan Brooks, Muhammad Wally and Tshepang Shisinwana as this year’s Gauteng champions.

It was plain sailing for Arnold Neveling who romped to three easy DD2 gearbox victories over class debutante Wayland Wyman each time while Brandon Smith, Ivana Cetinich and Carlo Olivier shared out the third places to see Smith end up third for the day from Cetinich, Nicholas Spanoyannis, Llewellyn Myburgh, Anton Pommersheim, Masters winner Philippe Chapat, Olivier and Carlo Gill. Neveling beat the absent Bradley Liebenberg to the title with Pommersheim third from Spanoyannis, while Chapat clinched the Masters championship from Pascal Acquaah and Gil.

Wayland Wyman marched to a commanding three-race open age group Senior Max overall victory over Nicholas Verheul and Shannon Jackson each time, while Farhaan Basha, Jurgen Pommersheim and Luvuyu Mobwano tussled over the minor placings ahead of newcomer Taiibi Tucci, as Wyman wrapped up the 2018 title from Verheul and Jackson.

It was a dramatic day in under-15 Junior Max as Kwanda Mokoena raced to three wins over Jayden Els each time to draw level; with Els on points at the end of the day, with Els taking the title on a count-back of wins at the end of the day! Aqil Alibhai and Nathi Msimanga were next up as they shared out the third places, followed by Jarrod Waberski, Alessio Angelucci, Greg Malumane, Trent Ohair, Ethan Coetzee and Lorenzo Cianfanelli as Els took the title from Mokoena, who jumped up from fourth and Alibhai made up a championship position to third ahead of Waberski, Leyton Fourie (who missed this round due to injury) and Ethan Coetzee.

In the primary school classes, Matthew Morrell powered to under-13 Mini Max victory over final race winner Josh Le Roux, Jayden Goosen, Bjorn Bertholdt, Moosa Kajee and Mandla Mlangeni, with Taya van der Laan next up from Ayden Hall and Seth Gomez. It was however not enough for Morrell to close down champion Jordan Brooks, who was elsewhere indisposed, but he did jump from fourth to second from Josh Le Roux, Joshua De Paiva, Goosen and Mlangeni.

Muhammad Wally bounced back from a first race issue to take races 2 and 3 for overall victory on the day as he clinched the under-11 Micro Max title. Wian Boshoff was second overall from KC Ensor Smith and race 1 winner Kyle Beukes; Luviwe Sambudla, Mohammed Moerat, Kent Swartz, Erich Heystek, Judd Bertholdt, Giulid Cianfanelli, Ntiyiso Mabunda and Mahlori Mothlabani. Wally ultimately took the title from Joshua de Paiva, Ensor Smith, Moerat and Beukes.

Aadam Kajee took under 8 Bambino honours two races to one over Troy van der Laan, while third placed Tshepang Shisinwana cruised to the karting's kindergarten championship. Enzo Rujugiro was fourth on the day from Caleb Odendaal, Anesu Maphumula, Cristian Verheul and Keagan Beaumont, as Shisinwana took the championship from Kajee, Maphumulo and van der Laan. 


Issued on behalf of Vereeniging Kart Club

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images