Out of town racers set to spice it up

The sixth round of the Northern Regions Karting Championships at the Zwartkops Kart Track Saturday 19 August promises to be somewhat of a mini-national, with out-of-town and wildcard drivers set to shake things up in most classes as they prepare for Sunday's African Open. 

Bradley Liebenberg will for instance have to work hard for his customary triple DD2 laurels with the likes of SA race heroes Leeroy Poulter and Michael Stephen in the field, never mind Cape visitor Jurie Swart and Daniel Duminy, who recently stepped up to the gearbox class. Class regulars Ivana Cetinich, Brandon Smith, Justin Allison and Masters regulars headed by Pascal Acquaah will all want to maintain status quo.

NR Senior Max regulars, championship leader Daniel Duminy, last race winner Oliver Gunner, Joshua Dias, Wayland Wyman and Shayur Harpalwill have their work cut out by the likes of on-form Capetonians Luke Herring and Jason Coetzee, while the high school Junior Max bunch could very well be a lottery. 

Newly crowned SA Mini Rok champion Kwanda Moekena was dominant in the last Northern Regions races, while Cape drivers and SA championship 1-2-3 Jason Coetzee, Charl Visser and Sebastian Boyd will be out to shake things up. Local ladies Cameron Dias and Tiffany Napier, world Mini Max champion Jayden Els, Wayland Wyman and Joseph Ellerine are all capable of winning too.

Expect the regular action in the primary school classes where locals Jarrod Waberski, Leyton Fourie, Kwanda Mokoena, Nikolas Roos, Ethan Coetzee and Troy Snyman, Kwanda Mokoena and Elam Modiba shouldn’t have much to worry about without any coastal competition. 

Waberski, Fourie, Coetzee, Aqil Alibhai, Daniel de Paiva and Matthew Morrell will have some out of town interference from the likes of quick Capetonian Tate Bishop, Carmo Novela Junior from Maputo and Secunda lightie Josh le Roux in the under-13 Mini Max 125cc races. Bishop should also be among the visiting drivers to trouble Aqil Alibhai, Jordan Brooks, Troy Snyman, Joshua de Paiva and Muhammad Wally in the 60cc Maxterinos.

Mohammad Wally should be the man to beat in under-11 Micro Max, with regular rivals Joshua de Paiva, Mandla Mlangeni, Mohammed Moerat, Jayden Goosen and Moosa Kajee joined by Mozambican Carmo Novela Junior and Cape driver Reza Levy, among others.

Gauteng’s under-8 Cadets will also have some out of town drivers to deal with in Cape Town driver Luan Mostert and Durban’s Rayn Asmal among those to take on Wian Boshoff, Luke Hill, Anthon Lombard, Cyril Jacobs and the likes.

The regular old school 125 GP lot won’t have any out of town interference though, as Jimmy Auby and Kurt Bakewell once again look to topple Scott Falconer who travels up from Hilton every race anyway, while Paulo Dias, Ian Basson and Miguel Dias will feature as always and the likes of Rob Bakewell, Deon Auby and Mauro Munari fight it out for Veterans honours. Keagan Masters will be out to create another Superkart upset over Brandon Auby and Bevan Williams.

Entrance to the Zwartkops Kart raceway is free — the track is situated at the Zwartkops Raceway on the R55 just outside Laudium, Pretoria and the facility offers a great take-away menu, full amenities and of course, a great day’s spellbinding karting…