Season ender set to deliver track warfare

The Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria will host the final round of the 2016 Extreme Festival series in style on Saturday, November 26. The event will see nine racing disciplines, on four wheels and two, take to the Zwartkops tarmac.

Heading up proceedings will be two races for Sasol Global Touring Cars where the combination to beat will be title leader Micheal Stephen and his (Engen Xtreme Audi Audi S3). His closest championship challenger is Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol BMW GTC), with the two drivers expected to resume a season-long rivalry for supremacy.

Also in the loop should be Johan Fourie (EPS Couriers BMW GTC), Hennie Groenewald (Sasol BMW GTC), Mathew Hodges (Volkswagen Jetta GTC), Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi S3), Greame Nathan (Volkswagen Jetta GTC) and Michael van Rooyen (RSC BMW GTC).

Daniel Rowe (Volkswagen Golf Gti) will head up the Production Car class, chased by people like Charl Smalberger (Nathan’s VW Golf Gti), Mandla Mdakane (VW Golf Gti), Shaun Duminy (SMD Ford Focus ST), George Smalberger (Sheild VW Golf Gti) and Devon Piazza-Musso (Kalex Golf Gti).

Teenager Bradley Liebenberg (Ferodo Polo) will lead the Engen Volkswagen Cup championship going to Zwartkops, with his closest two adversaries Chris Shorter (Payen Polo) and Keagan Masters (Champion Polo). People who could interfere with their title fight will include Shaun la Reservee (Alpine Motors Polo), Trevor Bland (Universal Health Polo), Matt Shorter (Champion Polo), Jurie Swart (Champion Polo), Jeffrey Kruger (Universal Health Polo) and Clinton Bezuidenhout (Universal health Polo).

The Investchem Formula 1600 races will see this year’s title chase come to a conclusion, between Dewald Brummer (MAD Mygale) and Julian van der Watt (SARD Mygale), Others to watch should be Dean Venter (Turnfab Mygale), Andy Schofield (Investchem Mygale), Alex Gillespie (ERP Trucking Mygale) and Mark Lauth (Fantastic Racing Mygale).

The day’s largest entry will be provided by the Comsol VW Challenge brigade, with almost 40 cars to wage battle. The overall championship will be disputed between Rory Atkinson (Comsol Polo), Tasmin Pepper (Campos/Alpine Motors VW Polo), Waldie Meintjies (Lee Thompson Polo), Nic Clarke (Central Technical Services Polo), Darren Nathan (Nathans Motorsport VW Polo), Luan Roos (Nathans Motorsport Polo and Graham Savage (Goldwagen JHB CBD/Wynberg Golf)

Jonathan du Toit (TAR Honda Civic) will start as favourite in the AutObarn Northern Bolt & Tool Superhatch races. In class B the likes of Samuel Gerber (ASAP Peugeot 208), Ishmael Baloyi (TAR Honda Civic) will take on championship leader Nic Martin (RDG Opel Kadett), while class C will see Vernon Stoltz (Jestik Opel Kadett) and Andre Dannhauser (Pro rubber Opel Corsa) battle for season honours

Class C will also see a once-off shootout between Volkswagen Driver Search finalists Jonathan Mogotsi and Ryan Rhode drriving off in a pair of VW Polo 1.2 TSI DSGs. One of them - he who the judges to be the VW Driver Search winner — will leave Zwartkops with a 2017 Polo Cup contract in his pocket.

The Hankook Formule Vee races should see ultra close competition between Jaco Schriks (Formula Vee), Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Rhema), Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Rhema), Peter Hills (Lube Fusion Rhema), Anthony Taylor (Vacuform Rhema) and  Luchen Ramchander (Miami Services Rhema).

The Silverton Bolt & Nut Challenge will see riders like Hugo Bradfield (Fourways Kawasaki ZX10R), Johan Nortje (Kawasaki ZX10R), Gareth Jackson (Mantech Yamaha R1), Riaan Fourie (Fourways Kawasaki) and Austin Olivier (No Rules Triumph Daytona) at the front.

The Zwartkops gates will be open from 6am, with qualifying sessions to commence at 7am and racing proper will kick off at 10.30am. Racing apart, the venue will offer live entertainment, an adventure zone for kids, stalls and constant transportation between the various corners and the pit gate and everybody is invited to visit the pits on foot at any time.

Admission is R100 per adult and R70 per student, with chuildren under the age of 12 years to go in for free. For more information, call the Zwartkops office at 012 384 2299 or visit the website.