All new champtionship, regs & format

Following a year of challenges that marked the end of an era in the final running of the S2000 cars as the premier rally car class, 2016 also saw the withdrawal of the factory teams which have been the cornerstone of rallying in South Africa for many years.

Now to ensure the revival and growth of the National Rally Championship in 2017 a new steering committee has been formed to guide rallying in South Africa into the future under the chairmanship of Rikus Fourie who brings a good balance of youth and experience and focused on the vested interests of all competitors, the organizing of quality events as well as ensuring stable and long term relationships with our existing and future partners.

The 2017 Championship will offer a high level of competition, close rallying, entertainment and a new level of social media marketing that will not disappoint through a revised format of events, based largely on feedback from the competitors, with the goal of minimising ‘time away from work’ as well as optimise the cost of competing in and the running of events.

The 2017 National Rally Championship will comprise seven events, which will be run in conjunction with the respective Region's championships.  The confirmed dates and provisional venues for the events are and aach championship round will be run over two days. Special stage distance will be targeted at approximately 140km comprising 70km of stages to be repeated twice to arrive at a total 300km overall rally distance.

Rally formats will start with a single pass recce starting after 9h00 to allow for early flight while scrutineering will take place during the running of the recce before drivers briefing. There will be an interactive holding area for spectators and rally proper starts mid-afternoon start to the event followed by two or three stages including short night and spectator stages before  Parc Ferme by around 20h30

Saturday action will start after 08h30 with the remainder of stage distance to be run. S ervice breaks to be minimum of 30 minute in centrally located parks and the podium ceremony will be concluded before sunset before prize giving v

The South African Rally Championship Class will be the R2 Class and a national driver and navigator champion will be declared abd there will be a Masters class for drivers over 35 years of age.  The rules for the class will remain the same technically and no turbo charged vehicles will be included in the class for 2017.  

Support classes, which will be classified as  NRC4 and NRC2 ‘Challenges’  to accommodate virtually all existing rally cars in the National Championship events including Classic cars, with existing S1600 cars that do not comply with the R2 regulations eligible for the NRC2 Challenge.

SA Rallying will make use of Social Media as its main stream marketing tool with the production and airing of TV programs added depending on additional sponsorship on an event by event basis. A media company will be approached to ensure that the quality of the Social Media and TV coverage is world class.

Excellent news - here' to the future strength of new and revived Rally Championship in 2017 based on exceptional racing and a great level of entertainment and interest.

2017 SA Rally Championship

1 10/11 March KZN Scottburgh

2 21/22 April Mpumalanga Sabie

3 19/20 May Mpumalanga Secunda

4 21/22 July Eastern Cape Port Elizabeth

5 18/19 August Gauteng Bronkhorspruit

6 22/23 September Western Cape Caledon

7 20/21 October Free State Welkom