WhatNorthern Regions Karting Finals Report
WhereLaserfiche Raceway, Vereeniging
WhenSaturday 18 November 2017

Vereeniging crowns Gauteng karting kings

The Northern Regions karting championships came to a head at Vereeniging on Saturday with some new thrilling dices in both on track and in the various title races and a new batch of gauteng karting champions crowned at the end of a fierce day’s racing at the Laserfiche Raceway.

2017 and four-time South African DD2 karting champion Bradley Liebenberg ended off an exceptional season with a dominant three-heat win to add the Gauteng title to his national crown as he left Masters class drivers Pascal Acquaah and Phillipe Chapat, Jamie Smith, Nathan Hammond and Nicholas Spanoyannis in his wake. Acquaah and Chapat had a most interesting afternoon as they tied on points in fourth behind the absent Ivana Cetinich and Brandon Smith in the overall championship, while Acquaah edged Chapat to take a close 11-point NR DD2 Masters title win.

KZN kid Daniel Duminy won an ultra-close Senior Max battle to take the day by a single point over Joshua Dias, with Oliver Gunner a close third from Ewan Taylor, Brandon Smith, Carlo Olivier and newcomers Taiibi Tucci and Damian Hammond, but Dias did enough to quite comfortably take the championship from 
Duminy, who edged Gunner for second by just five points.

Richard Fuller was another driver to win a battle as he took two 125 GP heats to newly crowned Northern Region’s champion Scott Falconer’s one, with Kurt Bakewell third from Clint Jones, Vets winner Wayne Masters and Paulo and Miguel Dias as Falconer took the title from Miguel Dias, Kurt Bakewell, Paulo Dias and Jones. Masters took the old man’s class from Rob Bakewell, Laurance Jones, Mauro Munari and Mike Venske, as Bakewell wound up NR 125 GP Vets champion from Jones, Munari and Venske.

Connor Rogers beat Calvin Dias two races to one to take Superkart honours for the day, but the real action there was between third and fourth placed drivers Michael Pringle and Dylan Seely, with Pringle taking the two thirds to Seely’s one on the day to win a tight championship over Seely.

Domination was the order of the day in the high school classes as 2016 World Mini Max champion Jayden Els completed a splendid Junior Max 125cc debut season with an emphatic three race win to clinch the 2017 Northern Regions Junior Max championship. Els left Wayland Wyman and lady karters Cameron Dias and Tiffany Napier to fight over the scraps, with the girls ending the day equal on points in third ahead of Vassili Lazanakis and Joseph Ellerine. Dias took second in the championship chase from Wyman and Napier.

Jordan North was equally dominant as he stormed to a trio of race wins to clinch the MSA Academy championship, leaving Joseph Ellerine, Wayland Wyman and Joshua Coertze to fight over the scraps. North clinched the first ever MSA Academy championship in the process from the absent Jason Coetzee and Wyman.

Jarrod Waberski was the hero of the primary school classes, emerging with a couple of wins, a championship and a championship runner up in the process. Leyton Fourie had already cinched the NR Mini Max title, so opted to concentrate on other business over the weekend, leaving Waberski to trot off to three straight Mini Max wins over Daniel de Paiva, Aqil Alibhai, Josh le Roux, Matthew Morrell and Jagger Robertson. Waberski tied up the championship second in the process ahead of de Paiva and Alibhai.

Jarrod Waberski likewise dominated the thee Mini Rok races to sew up that Northern Regions championship. Nick Roos was impressive en route to second on the day ahead of Leyton Fourie, Ethan Coetzee, Tristan Coertze and Michele Patrizi, but taking that title certainly was a feather in Waberski’s cap — he defeated 2017 SA Mini Max Champion and 2017 SA Mini Rok Champion Kwanda Mokoena on the NR Mini Rok championship podium…

The Maxterino races proved another case of battles and wars as Jordan Brooks beat Muhammad Wally two races to one to take the day, while Aqil Alibhai did just enough to keep ahead of Joshua de Paiva, Troy Snyman and KC Ensor-Smith to take third place on the day and clinch the championship by just four pints over Brooks, with Wally in third.

Muhammed Wally was another driver to concentrate on other business on Saturday after wrapping up the Northern Regions Micro Max championship last time out, leaving Mandla Mlangeni to take the day from Joshua de Paiva, Jayden Goosen, Hriday Pooren, Kyle Beukes and Moosa Kajee. Mlangeni, de Paiva and the troubled Troy Snyman shared out the race wins, but de Paiva’s strong day was just not enough to wrest the title second as he ended up three points adrift of Mohammed Moerat. Mlangeni’s win was however good enough to see him pass Goosen for fourth in the championship.

Wian Boshoff was another driver to deliver a perfect weekend of three race wins to tie up the under-8 Cadet title. Rayn Asmal took all the second places in karting’s kindergarden class with Luke Hill and Anthon Lombard sharing out the thirds ahead of Cyril Jacobs and Aadam. Boshoff took the title from Hill, Asmal, Lombard, Tshepang Shisinwana and Jacobs.

That ends off the formal 2017 South African year, with all the national and regional titles decided and several drivers ready for a holiday following full seasons at home, nationally and abroad. Some drivers will remain in their classes for another year, others will move up to the next age group and a few graduate out of karting on to the big track, but the 2018 season starts all over again early next year.


Issued on behalf of Vereeniging Kart Club

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images