WhatNorthern Regions Karting Round 4 Report
WhereVereeniging Kart Track
WhenSaturday 8 June 2019
CommunityGauteng Regional

Multiple winners in Gauteng kart races

Action packed racing and a thrilling karting spectacle delivered multiple winners in all classes as the fourth round of the 2019 Northern Regions Rotax Max Challenge went down at a chilly Vereeniging on Saturday.

There was an encouraging turn-up for the books in the premier DD2 class as all of Brandon Smith’s hard work finally paid off with not just an opening race win but a repeat victory in the final to take the day over race 2 winner, Bloemfontein lad Justin Allison. Smith also beat multiple SA and NR DD2 champion Bradley Liebenberg to the first race win, but GTC2 main circuit title leader Brad had another fraught day at the kart track to fourth overall behind Robert Whiting. 

Jamie Smith and Anton Pommersheim next up, while Llewelyn Mybergh, Nicolas Spanoyannis, Wayland Wyman and Ian Allnutt closed off the top ten as Nick Verheul had another DD2 day to forget. Eugene Brittz took Masters honours ahead of Pascal Acquaah, Philippe Chapat, Alistair Mingay and Jonathan Pieterse.

Jayden Els took the second and third Senior Max wins to ward off Fabienne Lanz, who made a triumphant return to Senior max with a first heat victory, with championship leader Wayland Wyman third ahead of Shannon Jackson, making it two ladies in the top four. Nick Verheul was fourth from Taiibi Tucci and Max 175 winner, another top SA racing lass, Beverly van Heerde, while Anton Pommersheim, Shrien Naidoo and Dane van Heerde suffered days to forget.

Kwanda Mokoena and final winner Aqil Alibhai traded the under-15 high school Junior Max wins with Jordan Brooks and 
Kgalema Mngadi and Lorenzo Cianfanelli next up following an impressive first heat run. They were followed by Greg Malumane, Ndumiso Bungane, Godfrey Malumane and Ethan Coetzee.

In primary school action, Matthew Morrell took the opening two under-13 races before Troy Snyman bounced back from a disastrous second race to take the final, but it was the consistent Jordan Brooks who ended up second for the day ahead of Mandla Mlangeni, Taya van der Laan and Cape visitor Jason Macbeath. Tyler Robinson and Ghazi Motlekar were next up ahead of Snyman overall.

Mohammed Moerat continued his strong form in under-111 Micro Max with a first and last race win punctuated by Luviwe Sambudla taking race 2 en route to second for the day. Wian Boshoff held off Ntiyiso Mabunda and Kent Swartz off for third ahead of Erich Heystek, Caleb Cotterell, Kyle Beukes, Mahlori Mabunda and Anesu Maphumulo.

Tsepang Shisinwana took the opening baby Bambino race before Keegan Beaumont and Troy van der Laan pipped him to the middle race win but Shisinwana was back to his winning ways for the final. Rookie Cristian Verheul was fourth ahead of fellow newcomer Mattao Mason with Kian Snyman next up from Aiden Beaumont Muziwakhe Thekiso and Kaiden Snyman.

The next round of the Northern Regions Rotax Max Challenge is the blockbuster annual pre-African Open regionals once again at the Vereeniging Kart track where the locals race alongside drivers from around the country and continent Saturday 6 July in preparation for the Open itself Sunday 7 July. That’s often a weekend that serves to shake the Northern Regions title race with a significant number of non scoring out of towner drivers running interference in all classes...


Issued on behalf of Vereeniging Kart Club

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images