WhatWestern Province Karting Round 5 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 27 July 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Killarney delivers great regional action

The Western Cape Rotax Max Karting Championship returned to Killarney, where the fifth round races delivered another splendid day’s action on a perfect Province winter’s Saturday 27 July. Dino Stermin won in DD2, Roy Gruer DD2 Masters and Charl Visser Senior Max, while Tate Bishop took the Junior, Jason Macbeath Mini and Reza Levy Micro Max victories as Rayan Karriem won in Bambino, Johan Hamman Clubmans and Joaquin de Oliveira Mini Rok.

Dino Stermin made no mistales to take the DD2 gearbox triple over cousin Sebastian Boyd, Jarryd Evans and Jonathan Thomas, after championship leader Jason Coetzee endured a disastrous day to finish fifth after ending second in the opening heat, with Waldo de Wet sixth. Roy Gruer similarly did the DD2 Masters triple over Conor Hughes, while Andre Steenkamp and Marco Viegas shared the thirds ahead of Ernst Viljoen.

Charl Visser emerged the overall Senior Max victor with a double win in the first and third races, each side of a welcome maiden victory for Storm Lanfear. Kai van Zijl took third for the day ahead of Simon Simpson-Heath, Andrew Thomas and the troubled Reece Oellermann.

Two race wins and a third were good enough for Tate Bishop to pip race 2 winner Troy Dolinschek to under-15 high school Junior Max honours for the day, while race 2 second place lad Kyle Visser drove home third overall ahead of Luca Wehrli, Kyle and Andre Le Riche.

In primary school action, Jason Macbeath made no mistakes as he stormed to a triple win in under-13 Mini Max. Ethan Stier was second in all three races and Paul Malcolm third, while Mikhail Fernandez took two fourth places to Valentino Hoffman’s one with karting lass Mischa Williams sixth.

Reza Levy had to fight back to take the second and third under-11 Micro Max wins after arch rival Reese Koorzen took the opening race win. Koorzen then had to fight off final race second man Joshua Smit to secure that second podium step, while Ethan Deacon took two fourths over Ethan Stier’s one in fourth and fifth overall ahead of Yusuf Parker.

Rayan Karriem meanwhile continued his baby bambino march with another three race wins over Luan Mostert, with rookies Jordon Wadeley, impressive newcomer Rhoderick Simpson, Kai van Rensburg and Nikolas Louw next up among a rapidly growing grid of racing newcomers.

Johan Hamman took a comfortable Cape Clubmans overall win with double race victories over Gary Lennon, Michael and race 3 winner Jared Jordan, and Sean le Riche. Joaquin de Oliveira overcame opening race winner Jason MacBeath to take the overall Mini Rok win ahead of Joshua Smit, Ethan Deacon, Jude Stuart and Ethan Lennon.

The Cape’s top karters now head to KwaZulu-Natal to do Province proud in the third round of the SA Rotax Max Nationals at iDube over the Women’s Day weekend before returning to Killarney for the sixth round of the Cape championship 31 August.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images