WhatWestern Province Karting Round 6 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 31 August 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Baby class karters top Cape kart action

Killarney was at its best on Saturday as cool cold conditions warmed to deliver a flowery hint of spring as the youngest Cape karting classes came to the fore in a splendid day of Western Province Rotax Max kart racing.

After struggling for starters earlier in the season, no less than eleven baby Bambinos lined took to the track and while Rayan Karriem took the day with three heat wins, the final race proved sublime as Karriem fought Jordon Wadeley, Luan Mostert and Rhoderick Simpson off with the four split by half a second at the flag. Simpson was second overall from Wadeley and Mostert with rookie Kai van Rensburg fifth from Nikolas Louw, Siyabonga Ntuli, Rebecca Wadeley, Michael Danks, Riley Stier and John Norman.

Under-11 Micro Max likewise enjoyed great racing among an 11-kart field as Reza Levy took two races to Joshua Smit's as Reese Koorzen took third for the day with a couple of second places in the races. Ethan Deacon beat Caleb Odendaal, Rhoderick Simpson and class debutant Jordon Wadeley to fourth, ahead of Yusuf Parker, Eric Norman, Sabelo Ntuli and Luan Mostert.

Jason Macbath made under-13 Mini Max his own with three race wins over Ethan Stier and a delighted karting lass Mischa Williams, who delivered her best result of the year with a trio of thirds ahead of Ethan Deacon and Paul Malcolm overall. With Mini and Micro Max coming together on a single race at a similar specification next year, things are looking up for primary school karting.

In high school action, South African Rotax Mini Max champion Kyle Visser took a third and a couple of race wins to take a narrow overall win over race 1 winner Tate Bishop, while title leader Troy Dolinschek took third from Storm Lanfear. Kyle Le Riche ended fourth for the day ahead of Luca Wehrli, Andre Le Riche and Thaqib Meyer.

It was double delight for the visser family when SA Junior Max champion Charl took a triple Senior Max win over Kai van Zijl each time. Simon Simpson-Heath, Storm Lanfear and Andrew Thomas fought hard for third, with each taking a lower podium place on the three races, while Thaqib Meyer had a Senior day to forget.

Dino Stermin meanwhile continued his open gearbox class DD2 fight back with a trio of wins. Sebastian Boyd and Jonathan Thomas made Dino’s victory all that much sweeter by each taking a second place off Jason Coetzee, who scraped to second from Thomas, Boyd and Waldo De Wet. Roy Gruer took two wins to Conor Hughes’ one to edge the Masters win with Marco Viega's third from Harry Georgiou, Andre Steenkamp, Robert Peche and Ernst Viljoen.

There is no rest for the wicked with a short two-week break to the seventh round WP races at Killarney and just a week from there to the Rotax Max SA Finals at Zwartkops on 21 September.                                         


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images