WhatWestern Province Karting Round 7 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 14 September 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Killarney karts deliver entertainment.

The seventh round of the Western Province Rotax Max Challenge karting championship delivered high drama amongst the Cape springtime daisies on Saturday with championship lead changes, exclusions and the arrival of a new racing star at Killarney. 

Karting in the Cape is very much a family sport — six years ago, Kai van Rensburg’s dad pushed him into the pits in his pram. On Saturday Kai won the baby Bambino class with two heat wins to Rayan Karriem's one in three brilliant races. Karriem broke the lap record in race 2, after third for the day Luan Mostert broke it in race 1. Rookies Nikolas Louw, Siyabonga Ntuli, Michael Danks, Rebecca Wadeley and Riley Stier and John Norman followed, but Jordon Wadeley had a tough day after losing his first race win.

At the other end of the scale, Dino Stermin was in imperious form as he led every premier DD2 gearbox class lap of the day to take a triple victory over cousin Sebastian Boyd and take that championship lead by a point over Jason Coetzee, who ended third for the day. Jonathan Thomas was fourth from Jarryd Evans and Waldo De Wet, while Conor Hughes took two DD2 Masters wins over Roy Gruer’s one, but the consistent Marco Viegas ended up second from Gruer, Andrew Thomas, Harry Georgiou and Andre Steenkamp.

Charl Visser and Kai van Zijl shared the Senior Max race wins, but it was Visser who took the day with two wins as Simon Simpson-Heath ended third after dicing with Storm Lanfear, as newcomers Tristan Reddy and Dylan Dawes closed off the top six. There was no stopping Troy Dolinschek in high school Junior Max as he raced to a triple victory ahead of Kyle Visser, Storm Lanfear, Kyle and Andre le Riche and Thaqib Meyer. Tate Bishop lost his third race in third place after ending second in the first two heats.

In the primary school classes, Jason Macbeath came back from fourth after incurring a five second penalty in the opening race to take the day by winning the second and third under-13 Mini Max heats. Ethan Stier took three seconds on the day to beat race 1 winner Paul Malcolm to third with Ethan Deacon, Mischa Williams and Valentino Hoffman next up.

The drama overflowed in under-11 Micro Max when Reese Koorzen, Joshua Smit and Reza Levy delivered a brilliant first race, only for Koorzen and Smit to lose their first and second places and hand the win to Levy. Koorzen bounced back to take the second and third heats, but their penalty saw Koorzen and Smit ending sixth and seventh overall behind Levy, Ethan Deacon, Micro debutant Jordon Wadeley and newcomers Yusuf Parker and Sabelo Ntuli but ahead of Eric Norman, who missed race 2.

Jared Jordan beat brother Michael two Clubmans races to one with Sean le Riche third and the day was rounded off by Joaquin de Oliveira taking two Mini Rok wins over Lucas Royston with Joshua Smit third from Jason Macbeath, Ethan Lennon, Jude Stuart and William Marshall. Most of the WP karters now head up to Zwartkops for the Rotax Max National Finals this coming weekend before returning to Killarney for the regional finals on 12 October. 


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images