WhatWestern Province Karting Final Round 8 Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 5 October 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Killarney’s thrilling kart title decider

Perfect conditions greeted the Killarney Kart Track on Saturday morning to provide the ideal battleground for the 2019 title finale and leave the Western Cape's karters to deliver some of the best racing of the season as this year’s champions were crowned, some by the narrowest of margins, with a few surprises on the way too. Dino Stermin, Conor Hughes, Charl Visser, Troy Dolinschek, Ethan Stier, Reza Levy and Rayan Karriem were crowned 2019 WP Rotax Max champions, but that did not necessarily reflect the form of the day...

Dino Stermin dominated the first three DD2 races before following championship rival Jason Coetzee home in the final after having done enough to secure a come from behind title. It was a game of cat and mouse behind as Sebastian Boyd, Jonathan Thomas and Jurie Swart chased the title contenders home ahead of Tristan de Nobrega and Waldo de Wet as Stermin provisionally took the title from Coetzee, Thomas and Boyd.

It was also close in over 30s title race, where Conor Hughes beat Roy Gruer two races to one, Which was enough to for Hughes to secure the title by 7 points over Gruer in an epic battle down to the wire. Marco Viegas drove home third to secure third in the title race. Newly qualified Master Andrew Thomas, Robert Peche and Andre Steenkamp were fourth, fifth and sixth on the day.

With his Senior Max championship settled before the start, Charl Visser sat the weekend out to rest before his end of season international campaign, leaving Kai van Zijl to romp to a triple win on the day as he wrapped up the title second. Storm Lanfear took a couple of seconds and a third en route to second for the day ahead of Andrew Rackstraw, Reece Oellermann, Simon Simpson-Heath and Andrew Thomas, as Simpson-Heath took the title third ahead of Lanfear.

Troy Dolinschek made no mistakes as he stormed to triple victory to wrap up the WP under-15 Junior Max title ahead of Kyle Visser, Tate Bishop, Storm Lanfear, Kyle and Andre le Riche in the first two races, before Lanfear popped up second ahead of Kyle and Andre le Riche in the final. Champion Dolinschek was followed by Visser, Bishop and Lanfear in the title race.

There was a surprise in under-13 Mini Max when little known upcountry racer Ghazi Motlekar popped up on pole position and proceeded to win a glorious and closely fought opening race from local title rivals Jason Macbeath, Ethan Stier and Paul Malcolm, with Mischa Williams, Valentino Hoffman and Ethan Deacon in pursuit. Macbeath bounced back to edge Malcolm and Motlekar, who as a visitor did not score points on the day, to the next two race wins, but that was not enough to prevent Ethan Stier from taking the title from MacBeath by all of two points, with Hoffman third from Malcolm and Williams.

Reese Koorzen was dominant in under-11 Micro Max form as he took all three wins on the day with Reza Levy and Joshua Smit sharing out the second and thirds ahead of Ethan Deacon, Jordon Wadeley, Eric Norman, Sabelo Ntuli, Yusuf Parker and the struggling Jude Stewart and Rhoderick Simpson. That was never going to be enough to prevent Levy from taking the title from Koorzen, Smit and Deacon.

Kai van Rensburg did his best to run interference as he shared baby Bambino race wins with Rayan Karriem, Jordon Wadeley, Luan Mostert ,Nikolas Louw, Michael Danks, Siyabonga Ntuli, Rebecca Wadeley, Matthew Smit, John Norman and Riley Stier fighting it out in an encouragingly swelling field behind them. Karriem ultimately took a dominant Bambino title in the class from Mostert, van Rensburg and brother and sister Jordon and Rebecca Wadeley.

Jared Jordan wrapped up the Cape Clubmans title over brother Michael, with Dylan Pelton and Sean le Riche next up in all three races, while Joaquin De Oliveira put the finishing touches to a dominant Mini Rok title over the squabbling Jason Macbeath and Ethan Lennon, Joshua Smit, Jude Stuart and William Marshall.

With the local karting season now over, the focus shifts to the Rotax Max grand Finals, where Cape drivers, Charl Visser, Troy Dolinschek and Reese Koorzen Jonathan Thomas will join the South African team fighting for international glory in Italy at the end of October. Local kart racing will return to Killarney with the start of a new season in February 2020.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images