WhatPassion For Speed Winter Edition Sunday Race Report
WhereZwartkops Raceway, Pretoria
WhenSunday 20 June 2021
CommunitySouth Africa National

Second day of Passion for Speed dishes up splendid racing

The second day of the Zwartkops Passion for Speed followed up Saturday’s cracking action with a perhaps calmer, but just as exciting Sunday of racing on 20 June.

Historic Racing South Africa’s opening sprint race was the race of the day as PE visitor Rudolf de Vos’ thundering Class A Chevy Can-Am fended off Rui Campos’ nimble Class B Porsche 911 RSR for a thrilling victory. De Vos had an easier run to race 2 victory over Campos to take the day, while Deon van Vuuren’s Mazda R100 took Class C, Jannie van Rooyen’s Scirocco Class D, Tony Lundin’s Datsun 1200 Class E, Charl Smalberger’s Alfa GTV Class F and Andy Gossman’s Datsun Sunny Class G. 

Fines man Rob Clark’s wildly listing Citroen GS Club won the opening HRSA Charlies SuperSpar Pursuit race from Wynand du Plessis Sr.’s Modified Fines Porsche 944 and Trophy winner Riaan Roux’ Scirocco after first man home Bert van Aarle’s Mazda MX5 was excluded after breaking out of its time bracket. Andre Hattingh’s Mercedes led du Plessis Sr. and Althea Pretorius to a Modified Fines 1-2-3 in race 2 as Roux took the Trophy and Clark the fines wins. 

Adrian Dalton M3 beat William Einkamerer’s 335i to Bridgestone BMW Club first race honours, while Jagger Robertson’s  Viking E46 took Class B from Oz Biagioni’s Bio Pool M3. Renier Smith’s M3 won Class C, Craig Herbst’s GreenHouse 330i Class D and Roelf du Plessis’s original Group N Kaye-Eddie 325iS Class E. Dalton beat Einkamerer again in race 2 while Andreas Meier’s Trained Amateurs E36 beat Robertson and Biagioni in Class B, Nek Makris’ 328i Turbo took Class C, Varish Ganpath’s Bridgestone 325Ci Class D and Arri van Heerden’s Vtech 325i Class E.

Thomas Falkiner’s Adaptive Taylon beat Adlem Auto duo Andre Human and Mackie Adlem’s Birkins to the opening Lotus Challenge race win, while Wesley Maxwell’s Vibro machine beat Ben Knights to the Locost class win. Jeffrey Kruger then steered his Universal Birkin to the second race win from Adlem, Human and Falkiner. But Human took the day from Adlem and Falconer as Maxwell again beat Knights to the Locust win.

Last but not least, Gert van den Berg steered his DOE Rhema 2 to opening DOE Formula Vee race honours over MD Bester’s Titan, Peter Hills’ Rugged SA and Shaun van der Linde’s Truck City Rhema 2s. Van den Berg then made it a double from Lendl Jansen’s Bull Security Forza, Bester and Greg Wilson’s Forza in a crunching second race.


Issued on behalf of Zwartkops Raceway

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images