WhatEP Rotax Max Challenge
WhereCelso Scribante, Port Elizabeth
WhenSaturday 31 July 2021
CommunityEastern Cape Regional

Karting action re-starts with an EP regional

The 2021 Rotax Max Karting season resumed with its first post-lockdown races at an Eastern Cape round at the Celso Scribante Kart track in Port Elizabeth on Saturday. A reasonable field of racers turned out on a sunny afternoon bolstered by out or town visitors looking to up their game before the regional and national championships resume over the coming month, while most of the locals were just happy to be racing again.

Masters duo Byron Teengs and James Moore put one over Marco Scribante in the opening DD2 race with Deon Verster, Justin Walton and Daniel Holtzhausen inpursuit, before Teengs and Moore topped race 2 from Walton, Scribante, Verster and Holtzhausen. Moore then prevented Teengs from making it a clean sweep with the final from Scribante, Walton, Verster and Holtzhausen as Teengs took the day from Moore.

National under-13 Mini Max challenger Caleb Odendaal made the trip to Gqeberha and made short work of the opening heats ahead of locals Lincoln Randall and Tyler Stephen. Odendal then started from the back of the combined Mini and Micro Max grid in the final but was soon ahead to take the triple for a fine overall victory from Randall and Stephen.

Josh Moore made no mistakes in under-11 Micro Max with a trio of wins. He took the first race from Caleb Moss, brother Jack Moore, Ethan Schultz, Aiden Green and Ashay Nagura. Jack made it a Moore 1-2 in heat 2 from Green, Moss, Nagura and Schultz, before Green went one better to end second in the final from Jack, Moss, Nagura and Schultz. And Jack Moore did the baby Bambino triple while Dylan Bezuidenhout shared the second places two to one with Arabelle Krause.

The Rotax Max Club focus shifts to Zwartkops this Saturday 7 August. Brandon and Jamie Smith and Nicolas Spanoyannis are the DD2 men to beat; Nicholas Verheul and Eugene Brittz in Masters. Kian Grottis and Olerato Sekudu are the top Senior Max guns, Muhammad Wally and Jayden Goosen in Junior Max, Caleb Odendaal and Wian Boshoff in Mini Max, Spice Mailula and Mattao Mason in Micro Max and Matthew Shuttleworth and Maddox Mason in Bambino.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images