WhatRotax Max Challenge Gauteng Finals Race Report
WhereZwartkops International Kart Raceway, Pretoria
WhenSaturday 4 December 2021
CommunityGauteng Regional

Rotax karting season ends on a Zwartkops high

The 2021 South African Rotax Max Challenge came to an end with a cracking 2021 Gauteng regional championship finale at the Zwartkops International Kart Raceway on Saturday. Impressive fields across the board delivers some title cliffhangers and Brandon Smith, Carlo Gil, Kian Grottis, Jayden Goosen, Wian Boshoff, Kegan Martin and Matthew Shuttleworth were crowned champions.

Brandon and Jamie Smith and first time winner Divan Braak shared the premier DD2 wins. Masters men Eugene Britz and Nicholas Verheul racing in the open class as they prepare to represent SA in the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Abu Dhabi, followed from Wayland Wyman. That saw Brandon to the '22 Gauteng title, while Wyman’s better Saturday form saw quite literally, Nick the title second from Nicolas Spanoyannis by just a point.

It was even closer in over-31 DD2 Masters. Tinahe Ncube won two races to Philippe Chapat’s one with Carlo Gil third. Which meant that Gil and Chapat ended tied on points as Gil took the title by virtue of his four wins to Chapat’s two, with Ncube a close third! Kian Grottis took his regular triple Senior Max win over Olerato Sekudu, KZN visitor Juandre Nel and Ethan Bostander. With their worst three scores dropped, Grottis scored a 100% win rate to take the title from Sekudu and Goodman.

KC Ensor-Smith trotted to a triple Junior Max win and Jayden Goosen and Moosa Kajee tied for second ahead of Karabo Malemela and Jonno Wilson. Consistent Goosen took the title from Kajee and Nicolaos Vostanis. Caleb Odendaal beat Georgia Lenaerts to all three Mini Max wins with Sebastian and Spice Mailula next home. The absent Wian Boshoff dominated the title race, winning every race he started throughout the season. Odendaal ended second from Kent Swartz.

Rafael Da Silva beat Kegan Martin two Micro Max races to one with Mattao Mason, Durelle Goodman, Matthew Shuttleworth and Christian Verheul, as Martin took the title from Da Silva and Mason. Brodi Dowling took the baby Bambino day two heats to one over Matthew Shuttleworth, Diego Antunes, Santi Frade,  Kayde Cornofskyand and Noah Cronje. That was not enough to stop Shuttleworth from taking an easy title, but Dowling edged Frade to second by just three points.

That wraps up an exceptional 2021 South African Rotax Max Challenge season. Unfortunately based on the actual Covid-19 measurements currently in place, competitors and their crews from South Africa will not get permission by the Kingdom of Bahrain to enter the country. This is the first Rotax Grand Final South Africa will miss since the first event held in Puerto Rico in 2000 and the whole team and their supporters are devastated.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images