WhatBurlyPro GTi Challenge Round 8 Preview
WhereKillarney International Raceway, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 19 October 2019
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Challenge class leaders in epic overall battle

The Western Cape Burly Pro GTi Challenge is all set to deliver one of the most memorable title fights in South African motorsport this year as the three class championship leaders arrive at the Killarney International Raceway in a magnificent three way title fight, with each also looking to wrap up their class titles on Saturday 19 October.

Just six championship points now split overall leader, Class B man Eden Thompson (MAD Performance/Somerset Refrigeration Jetta 2) and his title rivals, Class C lad Giordano Lupini (CIR Construction/La Vie de Luc Accelerate Gasoline Golf 1 GTi) and Class A leader Nian du Toit (Allied Fibreglass Jetta 3) after all three suffered hit and miss weekends last time out. 

It's an intriguing situation as all three cannot influence the others’ races, so the best Eden, Giordano and Nian can do, is be sure to score maximum points in their own races in each class. Should they do that, Thompson and du Toit will likely wrap up their class titles this weekend, while Lupini could also put the Class C championship to bed, but he must first add seven points to his advantage over best of the rest in the overall chase and Class C rival Jarred Simpson (Greenz Plumbing/Cape Refractory/CD Motorsport) in order to pull it off. 

Both Lupini and Simpson however also have a most competitive all-Golf 1 GTi Brat PackClass C field to deal with, including Alfie van Zyl, rapid rookies Jason Coetzee (CK Coachworks), Kyle and Calvin Wiltshire, Chase Herholdt, Carel van der Merwe, and Daniel Munna (ISE Group), Ian Kapp (Hydracor), Gert du Plessis (, Paul Winter, Ian Kapp (Hydracor) and Alton Steyn (GVW).

Zaki Hendricks (WheelWorx Polo Classic) is Eden Thompson’s closest Class B rival, but any one of third placed Mario Roux (Automar Jetta), Emile Assure (Burly Pro Suspensions Polo 6R) and Ashley van Niekerk (Ashrome Polo 3) are capable of taking race wins too. Other Class B runners include George Schutte (L & A Numberplates Golf 1), Marc Thompson (MAD Performance/Somerset Refrigeration Polo Classic) and Wayne Field (Coetzee’s Coachworks Jetta 2). 
Nian du Toit always has much to think about in Class A, where Jurie Swart Jr. (Alpine Autohaus/ RDK Plant GAP Motorsport Polo 6R), Jano van der Westhuizen (Wingfield/ Universal Health Polo 6R) and Colin Meder Jr. (International Tube Technology Polo 6R) are all race winners this year and involved in their own fight for that A championship second. Class A comeback kid Marco Busi (Automan/Liquid Blue GAP Motorsport Polo 6R) will also be a factor and do not ignore Chris Roberts (BMT Offshore Polo 6R) and Class A newcomer Dillon Joubert (Powder Coating World/Euro Blitz Polo 6R) in the overall and Class A fight.

The spectacular Burly Pro GTi Challenge gang races alongside a full program of Wingfield Motors Power Series regional racing to promise a great day's entertainment, so why not pack the cooler bag, brolly and braai and head out to Killarney for a thrilling Saturday 19 October?


Issued on behalf of WP GTi Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images