WhatWestern Province Karting Finals Report
WhereKillarney Kart Track, Cape Town
WhenSaturday 28 November 2020
CommunityCape Town, Western Province.

Great racing as Killarney rounds off the WP Max season

Aiden Beaumont, Reese Koorzen, Reza Levy, Kyle Visser, Tate Bishop, Sebastian Boyd and Conor Hughes were crowned as the champions as the smallest class in karting, the baby Bambinos starred at the Western Cape Rotax Max finale at Killarney in Cape Town on Saturday.

Aiden Beaumont and Kai van Rensburg shared out the Bambino wins as Beaumont clinched a super close championship from title rival van Rensburg. The two delivered a delightful season long championship charge. Behind them Michael Danks drove home third for the day from Siyabonga Ntuli, Liam Wharton and Matthew Roach. Sebastiano Human did enough to hold on to the title third in seventh and end up ahead of Ntuli and Danks, who pipped Wharton to the title fifth.

Keagan Beaumont and Jordon Wadeley shared out the under-11 Micro Max wins as Beaumont took the day. Joshua Smit fought Dale Hobbs off for third ahead of Eric Norman and Sabelo Ntuli. Reese Koorzen was however the biggest winner on the day despite not even racing. Karting requires drivers to drop their three worst scores of the season and with a second and two thirds to drop, not racing the final added those points to Koorzen’s tally to sew up the title from Smit and Wadeley.

The class of the day was however Under-13 Mini Max, where Reza Levy, Joshua Smit and Ethan Deacon shared out the wins. Smit took the day from Levy and Deacon, with Jordon Wadeley, Jude Stuart and Eric Norman next up. Levy however did enough to ultimately clinch an easy championship ahead of Deacon and Smit.

Ethan Stier beat Kyle and Andre le Riche, Matthew Wadeley and Reza Levy to high school under-15 Junior Max honours on the day. Kyle Visser was another driver to opt out of racing on the day to clinch his championship from Andre and Kyle le Riche and Wadeley.

Tate Bishop knew what he had to do to add the 2020 WP Senior Max championshp to his SA national title and he did just that. Bishop stormed to three wins in three races. He left the returning Kohen Bam to fight it out with Jason Coetzee for second. Jade Lanfear did enough to keep Andrew Rackstraw, who had a troubled first race, behind in fourth. Jade’s dad Guy ended sixth as Bishop and Coetzee topped the title chase ahead of the absent Charl Visser.

Sebastian Boyd missed the weekend as he nullified his drop points to add the Cape title to his national championship, leaving Jason Coetzee to have DD2 to himself. Behind him Conor Hughes delivered a trio of Masters wins over Jared Jordan and Andrew Thomas each time as Andre Steenkamp and Robert Peche fought over the crumbs. In so doing, Hughes clinched the 2020 DD2 Masters title from Jason Greyling, Jordan and Thomas.

That wraps up the 2020 WP karting year, which conspired to deliver a fine season in spite of the rigours of lockdown. All that remains is the matter of the ‘Olympics of Karting’ Rotax Max Grand Finals at the end of January. Cape drivers Sebastian Boyd, Tate Bishop and Keagan Beaumont will be among the Rotax Max drivers to represent South Africa in the Portimao, Portugal event. 

Then it all starts all over again with the first WP regional round, by when with a little luck, spectators will once again be able to enjoy the action from Killarney’s Kart Track stalls.


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images