WhatGauteng Rotax Max Challenge Round 7 Report
WhereFormula K Raceway, Benoni , Gauteng
WhenSaturday 6 November 2021
CommunityGauteng Regional

All action at Formula K’s penultimate Gauteng round

An encouraging field of Rotax Max karters delivered some blistering racing action at the penultimate round of the WOMZA sanctioned, Rand Kart Club run Gauteng Max championship at Formula K in Benoni on Saturday.

Wayland Wyman kept the Gauteng DD2 title wide open when he became the third direct-drive gearbox premier class winner in three races. He took two race wins on the day to take overall honours top Masters man Eugene Brittz, ran at DD2 weight in preparation for the Rotax Grand Finals, Nicolas Spanoyannis, Jamie Smith, Ian Allnutt, Divan Braak and opening race winner Niko Zafiris in a competitive day on track. Tinahe Ncube held Carlo Gil off for honours in Masters, with Philippe Chapat and Llewellyn Sutherland next up.

Kian Grottis led Olerato Sekudu and Ethan Bostander home in all three Senior Max races ahead of a spat between Roshaan Goodman, Ryan Wustmann and Conner Le Roux. Jayden Goosen won the opening two high school Junior Max races to take the day from KC Ensor-Smith, who spent the day in second place, and third race winner Moosa Kajee. Mini Max graduate Erich Heystek ended fourth after a day long spat with Nicolaos Vostanis and Karabo Malemela.

In primary school action, Wian Boshoff took under-13 Mini Max honours two races to one over Kent Swartz, with Georgia Lenaerts third for the day from Sebastian Dias in his debut Mini Max event, Amani Kinyua and Caleb Odendaal. Kegan Martin was unstoppable in under-11 Micro Max. He left Rafael Da Silva to fight off Taylin Patel, who also shared out the third places with Durelle Goodman, with Mattao Mason and Cristian Verheul in pursuit.

Brodi Dowling had a perfect day in baby Bambinos, with a triple victory over Matthew Shuttleworth each time. The consistent Diego Antunes made three fourth places into third for the day, ahead of Kayde Cornofsky, Santi Frade and Andoni Pinto, who shared out the fourths to finish ahead of Noah Cronje. Underweight penalties turned the FK shifter result on its head as David Hollis won overall from Ian Basson, Jarryd Wray, Albert Mans and Megan Verlaque.

The Western Cape Rotax Max finale is next up at Killarney coming Saturday 13 November before a three week break to the last Max appointment of the South African season, the Gauteng Finals at Zwartkops Saturday 04 December. From there the South African Rotax team heads for the ‘Olympics of Karting’ Grand Finals to close off the Rotax Max season at the Bahrain International Karting Circuit 11-18 December. 


Issued on behalf of Rotax Max Challenge

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images