Brace, Pretoria! The National Festival is coming to town!

The National Extreme Festival descends on Pretoria, making Zwartkops Raceway the place to be on Saturday 18 April. Headlined by the flying Extreme Supercars and wild South African Touring Cars, backed by SupaCup, Polo Cup and Formula 1600, and bolstered by SunBet ZX10 Masters bikes and the Toyota Gazoo Cup, this is not one to be missed!

The Extreme Supercars Driven By Dunlop have proven a tortoise and hare tale of late, but are there enough Zwartkops straights to help Franco Scribante’s rapid Porsche stop Stuart White and his wieldy Lamborghini? Time will tell, but, they also have home hero Jono du Toit’s Lambo, Arnold Neveling’s Audi R8, Kris Budnik’s Viper, Gianni Giannoccaro’s Nismo GT-R and the rest to overcome. Should be a blast! 

BMW man Robert Wolk is the one to beat in the South African Touring Cars. Saood Variawa has twice done that in the half-points reverse grid races, but Wolk has won where it counts most and his speed has added many a bonus point. Julian van der Watt’s VW is Wolk’s closest title rival, but also watch for home track super rookie Anthony Pretorius at Zwartkops. Now there’s something to shout for!

SATC SupaCup sees a sea of Volkswagen SupaPolos take on champion Bradley Liebenberg’s lone Toyota SupaStarlet. VW Motorsport lads Jonathan Mogotsi and Charl Visser lead the title chase from Keegan Campos, but Dominic Dias is the SupaCup one to watch following a double maiden win at Kyalami last time out. Also keep an eye on Calvin Dias, Jason Campos, David Franco, Tate Bishop, and Karah Hill, among a few others there.

Cape lad Nathan Victor and KZN driver Jason Loosemore have dominated Astron Energy Polo Cup this year. But expect the locals to be out for revenge back home. Charl Smalberger, Mo Karodia, Ethan Coetzee and VW rookie Kyle Visser are the ones to watch out for. Home Masters heroes, Wayne Masters, John Kruger, and Derick Smalberger will fly the over-50 flag.

Rookie Jagger Robertson is the Investchem Formula 1600 single seater man to beat. But regulars KC Ensor Smith, Jason Coetzee, Karabo Malemela, Nick van Weely, Siyabonga Mankonkwana and Alex Vos wand more than the scraps. These wieldy1 wings and slicks single seaters can be expected to thrill on half the size, double the fun Zwartkops.

The SunBet ZX10 Masters will dish up the two-wheel entertainment, but can anyone stop the on form Clinton Seller there right now? Be sure that Damion Purificati and Trevor Westman, Graeme van Breda, Jason Lamb Hein McMahon, David Veringa, Appanna Ganapathy, and the rest all aim to do just that. Beat that man Seller!

The Toyota Gazoo Racing SA Cup sees Dawie van der Merwe in complete control over Niko Zafiris and Dylan Pragji and the rest in GR86 Cup. Sean Nurse is in similar command of the Media Cup Corollas, while Paul de Vos took Yaris Cup honours first time out last meeting.

As mentioned above, half the distance, Zwartkops is famous for delivering double the action and excitement. Which makes this weekend’s National Extreme Festival meeting an absolute must watch. See you at Zwartkops!


Issued on behalf of Extreme Festival

What:Extreme Festival 2024 Round 3 Preview
Where:Zwartkops Raceway, Pretoria
When:Saturday 18 May 2024
Community:South Africa National

For further information please contact

Click on thumbnails to Download images